(Estd. 1907; Registration No. S-550, Delhi)
Regd. Office: Center for Advanced Study in Mathematics,
S. P. Pune University, Pune-411 007, Maharashtra

The General Secretary, Indian Mathematical Society (IMS),
invites applications from researchers working in Mathematics for the
to be given by the IMS every year.
The applications, along with the soft copy of the published paper and the documents indicating the proof of birth date/age should be sent to the General Secretary, IMS, by e-mail on the e-mail address so as to reach him on or before June 30 of the year of the Award.

Applications received after this date will not be considered.
Name of the Award:

A. K. Agarwal Award.
(for best publication in any journal in the world in the specified areas).

The Award:

(a) The award carries a citation and a cash prize of Rs.10,000/- (Indian Rupees ten thousand only).
(b) The awardeewill have to deliver a lecture based on the text of the paper for which the award has been conferred.
(c) The awardee will be paid TA to the extent of 2-AC rail fair from his/her place of residence in India. This expenditure will be incurred by the host institute that organizes the Annual Conference of IMS during that year.
(d) The awardee will be provided free local hospitality and accommodation during the period of conference by the host institute.

Terms and Conditions:

(e) The paper should be in any of the areas of Number theory, Combinatorics, Discrete mathematics, Analysis and Algebra.
(f) The paper should be in single authorship. In exceptional cases, a joint paper by two authors could be considered. In this case, the prize amount will be equally divided between the two authors.
(g) The author should be below 45 years of age as on 31st December of the year of the Award. In case of two authors both must satisfy this condition.
(h) The author(s) should be Indian citizen and must have carried out the said research work in India.
(i) The paper considered must have been published either online or in print version whichever is earlier during the previous year of the year in which award is being given. The paper must have been published in an internationally refereed journal. More weightage could be given to well established journals.
(j) The author should not submit more than one publication for this award.
(k) The author(s) should submit a paper only for one award instituted by the IMS.
(l) The paper sent for this award should not have been submitted or rejected for any other award.
(m) If there is no suitable quality paper in a particular year then the award need not be given in that year.

Modus operandi:

(p) The papers from all the contestants will be judged by at least three experts with impeccable record as mathematicians before finalizing by consensus the winner of the award.
(q) The experts may be named by the General Secretary in consultation with the President, the Academic Secretary and the two Editors, of JIMS and MS.
(r) The decision of the IMS shall be final and shall not be challanged in a court of law.

Prof. Satya Deo,
General Secretary, IMS,
Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Chhatnag Road,
Jhusi, Allahabad-211019 (Uttar Pradesh), India